cinquain, haiku my heart, OneSingleImpression, Poetry

spark and stare

rebecca’s friday recuerda mi corazon [haiku my heart]
one single impression sunday prompt no 149: calmed
photo: i was distracted…., penwren, flickr

I was distracted by an agapanthus

1. spark
humble
love evolves strong
spoken in creamy calm
near the edge of each expression
canto*

2. stare
alone
unexpected
pacified pantomime
mimic the others who perceive
christmas

*A canto is a division of narrative poem, usually epic in nature, that is traditionally lyrical. … Unlike short poems, a canto poem is long form and contains a story. … i see this short poem as part of canto in that there is a much bigger story behind this love that could possibly be expressed in a canto

Standard

21 thoughts on “spark and stare

  1. i too am undone with the cream and sepia of simple beauty.
    love your spark, your song to the new year.
    your place in my forever heart.

  2. HAPPY NEW YEAR Ms. P. !!!!!! 🙂
    I like the canto. I migh try it sometime just for fun.
    The ‘cant’ part of ‘canto’ is because of its lyrical nature??
    I can’t carry a tune so there isn’t a way for me to check
    that part of yours.
    ..

  3. The words “mimic the others who perceive Christmas” hits home because there are a few folks in my life who just can’t or won’t or don’t perceive Christmas at all. Not an easy task!

  4. I like this form of poetry, too. It is a beautiful challenge to the power of words.

    Friendship
    Loving, caring
    Requires give and take
    Heart and mind unified
    Companion!

    Wishing you a wonderful week!

  5. Jingle says:

    lovely blog, amazing poetry.
    wow.

    Greetings! Happy 2011.
    I invite you to become a participant at Thursday Poets Rally Week 36…
    you have until Wednesday to make 18 comments among participants…
    Hope to see you in, Happy Monday!
    your support is precious! Bless you.

  6. gracefulglider says:

    I enjoyed reading it… and learning of the Canto.
    Lovely post, Let’s stay connected 🙂
    love and Light

writing is everything...