Big Tent Poetry, Poetry

Red Lips

Big Tent Poetry: circus
photo:   sonora carver and red lips

eavesdrop on the early
budding bright beginning
adventurous reading upside down
cuddle crazy craving
pink sparkles, ballerina tutu
dainty diamond slippers

umbrella balancing act
riding relaxed rendevous
anchored to her strong back
she’d carry me
beyond the hills and
valleys of this small
town world
my pony and me

answering an ad
a simple task of turning
ink stained pages
the phone rings wild

there wasn’t much to it
together
we rode the tourist tempest
waxed wings melt

we’d climb
up high
about 30
sometimes 60 feet
and with swift stride
we’d leap and soar
diving downwards
plummeting plunge

sooner or later
inevitable
we’d make land
with a splash

sensing the surface
of cool waters
a deep pool
of water waiting
encompass our weight
happy for momentary flight

Red Lips was the name of the horse she rode and the horse diver was sonora carver [great link to story]

Standard

14 thoughts on “Red Lips

  1. It took me a very, very long time to read this… I love horses and riding. I’m terrified of unrestrained heights. The combination… But you end with happiness. That made the effort pay off for me, emotionally. Thank you.

  2. Great poem and story.
    ” there wasn’t much to it
    together
    we rode the tourist tempest
    waxed wings melt”

    I read this two ways- there wasn’t much to it together, and together we rode…

    Great wordplay and I always love a good Icarus reference !
    Great work and thanks for sharing.

  3. Wow! What an incredible story and your poem does it justice. I especially love the lines “of water waiting /
    encompass our weight / happy for momentary flight.

  4. i like the simplicity of the line “she’d carry me”.

    and i love the photo — i wrote a diving horse poem during napowrimo. love it!

    thanks for joining us at the circus! 🙂

  5. I find this photo very disturbing. You have described the experience very well. The whole concept of daredevilry
    is an anathema to me.It demonstrates an intellectual poverty and lack of imagination.I feel sorry for people who need near death experiences to convince themselves that they are still alive.

  6. Excellent imagery. But it is a terrifying story for me. Since I suffer from vertigo :(. Great poem at capturing the images.
    Pamela

writing is everything...

