totally optional prompts

3 dog night

1.
thirteen barking dogs
in a quiet neighborhood
safe sound and secure

2.
one barks they all bark
intent on a job well done
satisfied they rest

3.
green field wide open
ready to run, jump and play
collarless and free

* * * * * * * *
oh my gosh, there are more than enough dogs in my neighborhood… love animals, especially dogs as i have one of my own and she is a barker.. but some days, some days….
totally optional prompts: 3 dog poems;
photo: Something to Bark About, Blazingstar, flickr

Standard

12 thoughts on “3 dog night

  1. in my neighborhood it seems to be cats that we have too many of. oh boy, can i tell you during mating season it downright raises the hair on your arms! they screech so! they make my 3 indoor cats all nutty.

  2. I have no animals. Between the neighbors’ barking dogs and the off loaded feral cats which cruise my yard at night, I sometimes forget I have no animals. 🙂

  3. haha, this was neat. makes me smile, how true. this is so true of my neighborhood. i think my dog barks with dogs in other neighborhoods; every now and then i just don’t have the faintest idea where her hollar is directed lol.
    animals are a great thing to write about; most everyone loves them

  4. It is so true of dogs, when one barks they all bark. When my dog was a puppy, we took him to puppy preschool. I knew he was going to be a big dog and I wanted to have some control over him. The teacher said that if we could teach him to bark on command, we could make him not bark on command. A ‘if you can turn it on, you can turn it off’ type of thing. Well, being the clever dog owner, I trained my dog to bark on command but alas and alack, there is no way I can turn him off when I don’t want him to bark, except maybe yell at him. Hehehe.

    I wrote three poems for the TOP prompt: Dogs of War, Two Pets and My Dog Tom

    -Bev

  5. Very nicely done my friend. Just loved it. You are sooooo
    good. I myself am still lacking and need to rest but enjoy reading my friends wonderful work. Keep it coming.

    love-Melanie-bd

  6. Pingback: free love poems

writing is everything...

